#130 Red Squirrel

Hello folks,

Look at this little guy or gal! I quite often see red squirrels in the woods, but usually while walking and only fleetingly before they run away.

But since we’ve had a few nice days (typical of Scottish summer to make an appearance in… September) I’ve been doing my writing work in a nice spot I know off the beaten path in the woods, and that means the squirrels are much less likely to run away. In fact, this little one didn’t even see me, despite only being about 5 or 6 metres away. I was sitting very quietly reading when I heard a tell-tale rustling, and quietly reached for my camera while basically still lying down.

They hung about for a little while, running up and down trees while chirping and squeaking – in an absolutely adorable way. I don’t know if it was the same squirrel, but another one appeared a bit later and hung about for a while as well.

It’s about the most and closest I’ve been to a red squirrel in my life. They are virtually nonexistent in urban areas, and the population has declined a huge amount, particularly in England and Wales – about 75% of the current red squirrel population is in Scotland now.

An absolute privilege šŸ™‚

Thanks for visiting,

Kaylin

Leave a comment