#132 Purple Duke

Hey folks,

This is the famous (possible infamous?) statue of the Duke of Wellington in Glasgow’s Royal Exchange Square, right outside the Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA). He’s famous for having an orange cone on his head, usually put there by drunk students, to the point that there is a wealth of art out there depicting the duke with his orange cone, and it’s become some what iconic as a representation of Glasgow’s culture.

I was very happy to get a variation on this theme, with the purple cone (and purple also happens to be my favourite colour ☺️).

You can buy prints here, for anyone who’s interested (the print is better quality than the above version, which is scaled down in quality and size for Internet use).

It’s been a very long time since I did any amount of urban photography, but during a couple of separate trips through to Glasgow and Edinburgh recently for other things I was able to take some time to get some nice shots.

Urban photography is the type of photography I feel most comfortable with, and the type of photography I’ve been doing for the longest – most of my nature photography has only really been over the past couple of years, whereas I’ve been doing urban photography seriously since about 2010, when I lived in Edinburgh (and it was this that got me back into photography after learning bit at college several years earlier).

It was very nice to get out and about in the city with the camera. It almost makes me miss living in the city, but not quite!

Thanks for visiting,

Kaylin

Leave a comment